Book Report: LITTLE EARTHQUAKES

Little EarthquakesI have just recently read this wonderful book, LITTLE EARTHQUAKES by Jennifer Weiner, it wasn’t anything new, the copyright is 2004 and I got it from Booksale. (I am an avid fan of Booksale!) It was such a great book I alternated between bouts of crying, laughing-out-louds and meaniNgful smiles. Well, you see, it was about motherhood, girl-friendships, husband-wife and the classic mother-in-law hates daughter-in-law relationships. We very seldom encounter books that tackle all three subject as honestly as this book did.

I just want to share some of the lines that struck me…

Kelly Day: “This is so much harder than I ever thought it would be!” on juggling motherhood, a demanding career and a laid-off-for six-months husband.

Becky Rabinowitz: “I don’t know. Milk of human kindness?” When her husband asked why she was being kind and understanding to his mother when she has already disowned them after doing everything she can to make their lives miserable. It brought to mind Habit 5 from John Covey’s 7Habits of Highly Effective People – Seek first to understand, then to be understood.

Ayinde Towne: “You have to be brave because you are lucky. There are other people even worse off than you.”

Lia Frederick: How her mother wanted to foster an image of a good and responsible father even if it meant pretending all the time, shielding her daughter from the painful and devastating truth…

Hey, I don’t think I’ll ever pass muster as a critique or a copy writer but I hope I have conveyed, even if in a very small measure how Little Earthquakes affected me. And maybe, just maybe made you want to read the book yourself.

Enjoy reading!

Saturday, February 14, 2009 6:44 AM

 

Leave a Reply

